The Christian Tongue

Standard

Note: This post is specifically directed to my Christian, Jesus-loving professing brothers and sisters.

With all honesty, I don’t have any data to back-up this post of mine, but I have heard enough with my own ears to note that the Christian tongue of the younger generations are getting more loose, almost to the point that I cannot differentiate between them and the world. 

Back at my homechurch in Malaysia (for the sake of anonymity, I will not mention the name, but you know who you are), I hear (and it always, without fail, annoys me to no end) the youth frequently using the word ‘DAMN’; damn this, damn that, damn good… etc. It irks me every time I hear it; I mean, come on, there are other better (and more civil) words to use other than what is commonly heard today. And another favorite is the word S**T (faeces). This thing that should only come out from the backside of man is coming out from the mouth of man. No wonder Jesus says in Matt 15: 18 “But the things which come out from the mouth come from the heart, and they defile the man“. Is this how far we have slidden? In the facade of coming together for prayer meetings, worship, of blessing one another in church, proclaiming that we love Jesus among the congregation, yet in our private (and dare I say our online lives), we subject the Spirit of God who is in us to such filth and decadence! I’ve seen it on Facebook, how some younger ones that I know to be the leaders in church, are using these words simply on their status updates. Christians you say? Sure don’t sound like one. 

Brothers, sisters, I deeply appeal to you, for the sake of our risen King, think before you speak (or type), put a guard on that tongue; be sure that the words we use does not compromise the position of Christ in our lives. I leave you with a reminder from the book of James 3: 8 – 13.

But no one can tame the tongue, it is an unruly evil, full of deadly posion. By this we bless God, even the Father. And by this we curse men, who have come into being according to the image of God. Out of the same mouth proceeds blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so. Does a fountaion send forth at the same hole the sweet and the bitter? Can the fig tree, my brothers, bear olive berries; or a vine, figs? So no fountain can yield both salt water and fresh.  

You are that fountain. Pls give it some consideration, for the cause of the kingdom.

3 responses »

  1. Oh no!! siapa yg makan cili dia yang terasa pedas T_T
    i sometimes type ‘damn’ too… 😦 ok lah, will substitute with other word… hmmm…

  2. hmm… i remember you giving me the same lecture long way back in uni, i think before we were dating. good post!

Leave a Reply

